Greetings

Given that this is my first post, I suppose I should say something about myself and the aim of this blog.

When I was young, I had a poster of John Kennedy and an Irish tri-colour on my walls.  My favorite baseball player was Roberto Clemente.  My favorite basketball player was Lew Alcindor.  Later to be known as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.  I cheered for Frazier when he fought Ali.  I guess I’m dating myself.

I like color, I like diversity.  My passport has many stamps, but not enough.  I can speak a half dozen languages pretty poorly.

I have lived and worked abroad.  And I hope to do so again in the future.

For personal reasons, I have found myself in the Sonoran Desert.  The Valley of the Sun.  There is much to like here, but there is also much to dislike.  Same as any place, I suppose.

When AZ SB1070 passed, and more importantly, when Acting Governor Brewer signed it, I was more than disturbed.  I was disappointed, upset, and even angry.

I spent about four days, surfing through the thousands of comments left on the Yahoo comments page on the topic, and honestly, as an American, I was embarrassed.  That so many Americans were proud of their prejudice and racism.  I probably posted over a hundred replies, mostly in an attempt to educate people as to whom authored the bill, who introduced it and why, and how it would effect the daily lives of those of us in Arizona.  I also posted some fairly snarky comments, only because All Politics Are Local, and I’m pretty good at it.  There are no heroes here.

Published in: on May 17, 2010 at 4:34 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://azdem.wordpress.com/2010/05/17/greetings/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

